RSS

Boobcast:The Book

12 Jan

I’ve known from the beginning of this mess that one day I was going to have to write a book. This blog simply doesn’t get enough traffic to spread the word about what necrosis is, how it happens and how we can survive it. Originally I was going to take the content I have and turn it into a book. I think that was somewhat short-sighted on my part. This isn’t just about me. It’s about all of us.

It’s about every woman who has ever had to deal with this nightmare. It’s about every woman who has ever been afraid that those really dark bruises might be something more insidious. It’s about every woman who has borne this burden in silence because she couldn’t find anything about necrosis. It’s about ever woman who has ever blamed herself for this when it wasn’t her fault.

What I would like to do is have a series of around 15 interviews with women who have dealt with necrosis and come out the other side. Or even a few who are in the midst of dealing with it. I want these interviews to be raw, candid and honest in the flavor that Boobcast has been from the beginning.

I also want to include a couple interviews with doctors who deal with necrosis and botched surgeries. And finally, I want to include a chapter on legal options from a top malpractice attorney. I think that would make for a well-rounded book.

Why am I telling you this? My regular readers can probably guess. I can go other places for the interviews, I’m sure. But I’d like to start with you, if you’re willing. If anyone is interested in being interviewed for this project, please let me know. I can, as always, be reached at boobcast@gmail.com

Thank you in advance.

Boobcast has made such a tremendous difference in so many lives. It’s time to take it to the next level.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Boobcast:The Book

  1. Gail

    April 12, 2012 at 11:50 am

    Hi,

    I have been following to boobcast and my heart hurts for you. I am going through a ruff time now. Let me explain. I found out in June 2011 I had cancer, Infiltrating Lobular Caricoma SITU, it is a recurring breast cancer. I decide to have both breast remove. Let me add a little history about my breast. In 1978 I have breast reduction done. I had all kinds of complications with my right breast. I developed fat necosis and drained for six months before it finally closed. During that six months a abcess develop in rt breast. PS cut on right side of breast and left wound open and I had to back it until it healed. Another surgery to reduce left breast. I ended up with a dimple under right nipple for 34 years. I had 5 lbs removed from each breast. I was really big breasted.

    Little did I know this would cause me problems now.

    I has a bi-lateral mastecomy in July 2011, with expanders. I started developing necosis immediately. two weeks later had expanders remove. I was put in a chamber, tank or what ever for an hour and half for four days in a row to help put oxegen in my body, hoping to stop necosis. Did not work. Finally PS had to remove dead tissue and use a grapt from my right upper thigh. Went home with tubes and VAC therphy for two weeks. Grafts healed find, but lost most of my breast tissue.
    I made the decision to had the lat flap done on Dec 8th, 2011. PS removed graft and put in expanders. Guess what, necosis again on right breast. The left breast surgery was tech book.
    14 days later expanders came out again. Lost half of the flap on right side. This surgery was inthe morning, but a hematoma developed in the right breast and back to surgery again. Oh, during all these surgeries I was on Plavix and had to have blood and palettes. Finally a cardolist in Northside said to take me off Plavix, I do see the other Cardo anymore. Was in ICU for 2 1/2 days. Went home for Christmas on the 22nd Dec. The incision under the right flap was not healing properly. Back in the hospital for outpatient surgery. There was alot of old blood from hemoatoma. PS cleaned out real good and healed quickly. Now I am left with a flap on left that could be C cup, I was a 40 DDD before cancer. The right side would be a B cup.

    I am really mixed feeling about wether to try expanders again or just have implants to a B cup on both side and use enhancers for a C cup. I am 5′ 7″, w. 163 lbs. I have lost 55 lb going through all of this. I am so confussed,

    My family does wants me to do nothing and life with what I have now, but I can not stand to look at
    myself in the mirror. My right side is so scarred. I just can’t see how the PS will be able to make a B cup. I have prayed and researched and still have not been able to make a decision about doing expanders then implants or just go with implants. I am so afraid after all of the problems I’ve had.

    Would really love hear from you about your feelings.

    Thanks,
    Gail

     

Leave a Reply

 
