RSS

Jill’s Story

29 Nov

WARNING: This post contains graphic images of breast necrosis. If you have a weak constitution or are easily upset, please leave now. This post also contains material that is NSFW.

[Editor’s Note: Today’s story comes from Jill, a woman who has, quite honestly, been through much more than I have. I never thought I would encounter someone who has had a worse experience with a plastic surgeon than mine. Please give her your kindness and support. She could use all of it she can get right now]

Jill is a cancer survivor who had implants put in after a mastectomy. Then, about a year ago, she noticed cigarette-like burns on one breast. These were ignored by her surgeon. Then last month about 25% of the breast turned black and died, including the nipple.

During an office visit, her surgeon took a pair of scissors and cut the necrotic skin off. As he was debriding the wound, Jill was screaming for him to stop. Then he realized she had silicone implants. He had put them in himself but didn’t bother to check her chart beforehand. Then he pulled the implant out through hole he had just cut leaving her with an open visible wound and a HUGE under the skin wound.

The surgeon now refuses to do any more work on Jill because she no longer has health insurance. He actually suggested she go to a local charity hospital and apply for assistance there. Jill has quoted him as saying “Maybe they will make you Patient of the Year”.

Up to this point Jill had been packing the wound with gauze, but because it was so deep she was unable to pack it well herself. Thus, the wound wasn’t healing as well as it could have been. Fortunately Jill is now on a Wound V.A.C. and is getting the help she needs.

Jill has also been brave enough to share her photos. Below you can see what her necrosis looked like, the open wound, and the aftermath of the implant removal her “doctor” did.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Jill’s Story

  1. latsot

    November 29, 2011 at 9:33 am

    This is one of the most callous acts toward a single person I’ve ever heard of. I can’t imagine what it would be like to experience that and although I guess I can imagine how a doctor might care more about protecting him or herself than protecting the patient, I very much wish I couldn’t.

    Jill, you don’t need me to tell you how brave you are. If there’s anything I can do by blogging or tweeting I will, although nobody takes much notice of what I say. I can ask influential friends to RT links to this blog, though, if you want.

    Get well.

     
  2. Doris

    December 1, 2012 at 10:58 am

    Unbelievable that the man can still be a DOCTOR after what he did to you and had no sympathy! I have a wonderful plastic surgeon…grateful nothing like this has happened to me! Prayers for you and that the wound heals soon…

     
  3. Angie Pitts

    May 14, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    I was blessed to meet you tonight. I pray that your future surgeries go well. Let me know when and I’ll try to stop by & see you again.

     
  4. hay day cheats free diamonds

    March 21, 2014 at 2:31 am

    Good day! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick
    shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
