RSS

Advice From My Lawyer

24 Oct

Regular readers may recall an incident several weeks ago dealing with a reply to a post I made on the Complaints Board after my necrosis situation initially occurred. Not long after I replied and complained to the doctor’s office, I got a Cease and Desist letter from the doctor’s lawyer. In case this has never happened to you, believe me when I say, it’s a scary thing.

Fortunately, along with that C&D letter, I got a copy of the settlement. After fretting fearfully and worrying myself into a state of panic, my husband contacted our estate lawyer, who was kind enough to look at the letter and contract. She advised that I remove links to the Complaints Board and any posts mentioning specifics about the settlement. So I will be spending the evening doing just that. She also advised that, while there was nothing specific preventing me from mentioning the doctor’s name, it might be considered a violation of the spirit of the arrangement. Thus, the doctor will remain nameless.

It’s a real relief knowing that I cannot be forced to shut this site down. That was, quite honestly, my biggest fear. I’ve lost so much and been through so much, I don’t know if I could have dealt with having Boobcast taken from me, too. I would have been willing to go all the way to the Supreme Court to keep this place open. Fortunately, now I know I don’t have to worry about it.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 24, 2011 in Law, Lawyer, Legal

 

Leave a Reply

 
