RSS

More Breast Necrosis Photos

24 Aug

WARNING: As with the my personal breast necrosis photos, these images are very graphic and explicit. They are not safe for work or young children. These are not my photos. They come to us from a regular reader who has asked that the images be contributed anonymously. I commend her on her bravery. I know how frightened I was of contributing my own photos. She feels that the more images of breast necrosis that are out there, the better for all the women out there going through this.

These photos are all post-debridement (the removal of dead tissue to create a bead for new tissue to grow. Though you can see the few remnants of fat necrosis in the Week 4 image. For those not familiar, necrosis is the black spots.

To see my personal necrosis photos, please visit here.

Her photos, along with a description, follow below.

Week 4:  After debridement, wound expanded to 3-4 times in width

image.jpeg

Left breast also had small area of necrotic skin and split to double the size after debridement.

image.png

Week 5-6: Necrotic tissue trimmed and healthy tissue forming.
(Right breast)

Right

(Left Breast)

image.jpeg

Week 6-7:  Skin starting to form around areolas and outer edges of wounds sealed and starting to form skin.
image.png

image.png

I wIll continue to post progress as our friend sends updates.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “More Breast Necrosis Photos

  1. Ladybrown

    November 13, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Thank thank for this post! I thought I was the only one who had an issue. I had a mastectomy w/reconstruction on Oct 5th. My left breast has necrosis, I am curious if you don’t mind telling me how did your doctor treat your breast after the debriment. My PS keeps telling me to put saline solution on the wound and gauze. This has to be the longest healing process ever!

    Thank you again it’s nice to know I am not alone.

     
    • Maria_Myrback

      November 13, 2011 at 11:34 pm

      I’m so sorry to hear about both your mastectomy and necrosis. You are definitely not alone. I packed with wet saline until one of the nurses found a vacuum assisted wound closure machine. I’ve talked about it a few times on the site. If you go to the Search bar on the front page and type in V.A.C. you should find the link.

      Honestly, without that device, I think I probably would have killed myself. Of course my situation. If you ever need to talk, my contact info is on the blog. Please don’t hesitate to email or call. I know how hard this is and how isolating it can feel.

       

Leave a Reply

 
