RSS

My Areola Tattoos Suck

23 Aug

Right now I’m extremely pissed off. I had what the RN call tattooing done to give pigment to my reconstructed nipples and the areolae area on Monday the 16th. I followed her aftercare instructions to the letter. I have kept the areas covered with 3×3 gauze held in place with paper tape for a week. I have applied copious amounts of petroleum jelly to the areas to the point that I’ve nearly used an entire container of the stuff.

And yet, I keep getting pigment flaking off. In some spots, from my perspective it looks like the RN took cheap cream makeup or mud and smeared it on. But then I already gave my complete perspective in my recent post titled “Delicate”.

The color is uneven to the point that there are large spots the size of a pencil erasers that look like there is no pigment at all. It’s all spotty and splotchy. I’ll let the photos below speak for themselves.

Left Nipple And Areola

The photo you see to the left is my left nipple and areola. The shiny part is pigment that keeps flaking and peeling off. You can see spots on the actual nipple itself where the pigment is basically non-existent.

Right Nipple and Areola

The right nipple here looks a little bit better but still splotchy and has a couple spots where there is no pigment at all just as with the left above.

I have read in several places that tattooing should take place anywhere from 8 weeks to one year. There doesn’t seem to be any real consistent data. I just know I’m pretty ticked off.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “My Areola Tattoos Suck

  1. Wakako

    September 28, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    Hey,

    I ran across this post by chance as I was thinking about becoming a tattoo artist in the medical field. I’ve been apprenticing at a shop for a few years so I’m obviously not a professional. Petroleum jelly is extremely oily; too much will clog up your pores. In the tattoo industry, we stick with Aquaphor; and only a very light, thin layer twice a day; in the morning and at night. Also, depending on your condition while you were being tattooed, if you bled a lot more, the scabbing would cause the color to flake off. Hope this helps. You’d probably be able to go in for a touch up though, which is the good thing.

    Wakako

     
  2. Jean Wescott

    January 30, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    I do areola tattooing. Normally, it will take 2 applications to complete the tattooing. I don’t use a machine. It is all done manually with the method I use. Scar tissue takes differently than other tissue and everyone’s body chemistry and lifestyles (exposure to chemicals from soaps, shampoos, etc.) are different. If I can be of help, call me at 203 918-0099.

    Jean Wescott
    Gold Coast Allure, LLC

     

Leave a Reply

 
