RSS

Winding Down

15 Jul

My life has been…Well it’s been something. Between the necrosis from a badly done boob job, the subsequent dehescience after implant removal, months on the V.A.C. wound closure machine, spending more months feeling and being a mangled, sub-human thing, making plans to kill myself, not knowing if I would even be able to have breast reconstruction and finally, the fear of necrosis before and during healing from the latissimus flap breast reconstruction. It’s been a long road and now it is starting to come to an end. In mid-August I’ll have medical tattooing and then it will all be over.

Mentally and emotionally getting the reconstruction, both mound and nipple, went a very long way towards helping me to heal. That’s not to say that I’m not still angry. I have days…much fewer now…when I still wish very bad things on the surgeon who did the first surgery. I still do not know for certain how much of it was his fault. But I do know there is plenty of blame there in the way he handled things.

Since there really isn’t much for me to write about in my own personal journey, and because so few of you have offered to come forward with your own stores, I will be slowly winding down on posting. As you can see, it has been a while since I posted. That’s simply because there are no new developments to report and nothing new in the future aside from the tattooing.

I will have a video of the tattooing and I’ll also have commentary on that healing process.

I will leave the site up for the rest of my life. I may even leave a small stipend in my will to keep Boobcast going after I am gone. This is, of course, a very, VERY long time from now. Even though I’m nearing the end of this particular journey, I still feel that Boobcast is an extremely valuable resource for anyone dealing with necrosis or having breast or nipple reconstruction of any type.

I will still be available to answer questions and I encourage you all to contact me if you ever need a friendly ear or if you have questions you’re afraid to ask someone else. I’m always available for that and always will be. So don’t worry about that.

Take care, dear readers and please remember that i am always here to help.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Winding Down

  1. Lisa Hanson

    July 20, 2010 at 12:37 am

    I understand why you are slowing down on your postings as this is my first visit in the two years you have been here! I am a high school health teacher who tries despirately to get the girls in my school to understand the dangers of plastic surgery and to have high enough self esteem to not want to be known just for their “boobs and how much guys just love them”. I just started searching after following the Heidi M plastic surgery nightmare…and found you.
    A few years ago breast implants were the number one high school graduation gift. Women who get breast implants are more likely to attempt suicide than women who don’t. Plastic surgery for non corrections of accident damage, cleft palate… went up something like 300% in the last 7 years. I find all this terrifying.
    Thank you for having this post. I will be adding it to my favorites and hope to use some of it in my classroom as well. I wish you the best and look forward to searching more of this sight – thank you!

     
  2. Evelyn

    July 27, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Hey, I came across your story whilst reading Real People magazine (It came in a £1.80 3 pack, I couldn’t resist xD) and decided to drop by your blog.
    I actually cannot believe what you’ve gone through, your an amazingly courageous woman who deserves perfect boobs in my opinion. 😛
    I’m 14 years old, and I have been considering breast implants for when I get older. My older sister has had them done, but the NHS has made her have them removed because of the brand of silicone implant she had has being exploding (to see what the hell I’m on about click this article: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-1265386/Your-breast-implants-explode-warns-British-health-agency.html)
    I hope your doing well, and thank you for opening my eyes to the horrors of breast implants. 😀 xxx

     
    • Maria_Myrback

      July 27, 2010 at 10:20 am

      Evelyn;

      I’m glad you found my blog. If you REALLY want to scare yourself, google Breast Necrosis Photos and click on the Boobcast link. I’m doing much better now. Although I have scarring from the latissimus flap breast reconstruction and nipple reconstruction. I love the Twins, but trust me when I tell you that even if things go perfectly with a breast augmentation, you will never be the same. Whether that is a good or bad thing is very individual.

       

Leave a Reply

 
