RSS

My Nipples

15 Jun

The photos below are of my reconstructed nipples four weeks after the reconstruction surgery.

The top photo is the right nipple. The bottom is the left.

I understand much better now why I have read comments by other women on breast cancer sites who talk about “nipple collapse”. After 4 weeks it DOES seem like someone let the air out of my right nipple. It is less than half the height it was at the time of surgery. This is NOT a complaint. My right nipple, because of the contracture, actually looks like a natural nipple.

My left is contracting much slower than the right. It still looks like a little top hat rather than the nubbin the right one is becoming.. It was, however, stressed to me that it takes about two months to completely heal.

I’m also hoping that the tattooing will disguise the scar lines that are evident on either side of my nips.

So, without further adieu, here are the photos.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “My Nipples

  1. lulupanache

    June 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    l must say there looking good, after all you have been through it is amazing to have such a good result l see you have ta ta tuesdays up and running will send some pictures over, l have had the necrosis removed and had some skin grafting and fat transfered l am happy with the way it is healing, l am due to have another fat transfer and more grating soon all being well, my plastic surgeon said l need 3 months break, but following your story gives me so much reasurance, thank you so much,
    when your moving on you will find it hard to let go after making so many friends but l wish you well.

     
    • FledgelingSkeptic

      June 19, 2010 at 9:55 pm

      I am SO relieved to hear that you’ve turned the corner and that things are going in the right direction. for you. I tend to agree with your PS. Your body needs time to heal and adjust to what you’ve had done. And thanks for the Treasure Chest comment πŸ™‚ When you’re all healed, or even mostly so, feel free to participate in Ta Ta Tuesdays πŸ˜€ We’d love to have you…in a completely anonymous no-one-knows-thats-you kind of way, that is πŸ˜€

      Keep in touch, okay?

       

Leave a Reply

 
