RSS

Nipple Reconstruction

20 May

Two days ago I gave a synopsis of the nipple reconstruction procedure done by Dr. Elliott on Monday morning.

Today you get to see the video of the actual surgical reconstruction process on my right nipple. Dr. Elliott is giving a running commentary about the procedure itself. I’m occasionally chiming in as my Valium-induced haze allows me to.

***WARNING*** THIS IS ACTUAL SURGERY!!! ***WARNING***

The blood you see is mine. This is not the fake blood in movies, etc. Some may consider this graphic. After the necrosis photos I posted a while back, this is a walk in the park and very educational. So use your own best judgment.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Nipple Reconstruction

  1. lulupanache

    May 21, 2010 at 9:44 am

    oh my god, you are very brave, l just love your positive attitude, well l hope all goes very well for you, you have taught us such a lot from your treatment, and to show in detail is so fantastic, l can see what you mean about a long journey but you have got there l am so pleased for you.
    lulupanache

     
  2. Debbie Starling

    July 7, 2011 at 12:11 am

    thank you so much for posting this video. Just today, I decided to go ahead with the nipple reconstruction post DIEP procedure in Dec 2010. It was fascinating to watch. I am a nurse, but it made me a bit queezy watching the procedure. My doc is going to perform the surgery in his office with local numbing and maybe I will ask for Valium too. thanks for being so open and willing to share your experience with others to make it less scary for us.

     
    • Maria_Myrback

      July 7, 2011 at 12:32 am

      The Valium really was a life saver. They gave me two: one to take 45 min. before my appointment and one when I got there. I would have been freaking out without it.

      And you are most welcome. I’m always happy when others can benefit from my experience. I was just really surprised at how talkative I was, considering how drugged up I felt.

       
  3. joy

    July 30, 2011 at 12:57 am

    Hi i had my nipples done yesterday a wake and numbed area breast had grafting too for areoal from my tummy area all went well not much pain .

     
  4. Jack

    March 13, 2012 at 8:19 am

    My wife had breast correction surgery (on both) and the surgeon was also supposed to do nipple reconstruction but for some strange reason, the surgeon only reconstructed one nipple – not two.
    Now my wife has a nipple on only one breast. How lame is that ? Especially since the surgeon is a woman and we thought she was going to make both breasts symetrical.

    If she had told us that for whatever reason that only one nipple could be done (not both breasts), then we would have said no thanks. Better to have breasts with no nipples and have them at least look even than having only one nipple popping out.
    We assumed incorrectly that both would be done. Please discuss this and all details with your surgeon AHEAD OF TIME.

     
    • Maria_Myrback

      March 15, 2012 at 10:16 am

      Jack;

      Your experience is highly unusual. What did the doctor say when you and your wife asked? Was there a reason given? I’d love to know, as there may have been a medical reason.

      Thanks for writing in. I hope your wife feels well despite this.

       
  5. Hynda

    September 26, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    Very informative- am going today to see my plastic surgeon re the nipple reconstruction and now feel more knowledgeable about what might do- thnaks for being open to being videoed- you have helped many other women make vital decisions!

     
  6. Donna

    November 28, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    Thank you for filming this! What a wonderful thing to do! I have mine scheduled for January. Now I’m excited to get it done.

     
  7. Margaret McKinnon

    January 26, 2014 at 9:48 am

    Thank you. Just what I was looking for.

     

Leave a Reply

 
