RSS

Courage

19 Apr

There was a time in my life when I thought that being courageous meant that I sallied forth to do fearless battle with whatever stood in my way. To face my challenges head on without wavering. Without quaking in my boots.

Without feeling the distinct desire to throw up.

In movies and TV courage is portrayed as valorous, life-threatening actions by men and women who showed no fear.

Bullshit.

I’ve learned so very much from my experiences over the last 2+ years. The thing I’ve learned about courage is that it generally involves a bit of fear. Frequently it involves stark raving terror.

Courage has nothing at all to do with being fearless. The best quote about courage I’ve ever heard comes from the movie “The Princess Diaries”. The heroine is reading a letter from her deceased father who passed when she was just a baby.

In the letter her father tells her, “Courage is not the absence of fear but rather the judgment that something is more important than fear.”.

Courage comes in many colors. for someone with severe depression the simple act of getting out of bed and facing the day is an act of courage. Facing another round of chemotherapy, knowing what it will do to you, is an act of courage.

Hell, facing that disease at all and not burying your head in the sand or turning to alternative therapies instead of standard medical treatment is an act of courage.

“Speak your mind even if your voice shakes” – That quote is all about courage. Find that thing deep down inside yourself. Grab onto it and hold tight with both hands.

No, being courageous isn’t about being fearless. It’s about being piss-your-pants-terrified and doing what YOU know needs to be done. Not for your own good but for the good of others.

It’s taken me a year to figure out that I *am* courageous. And my thanks to my readers who kept hammering that point home.Without you all I never would have recognized your praise as being true.

Thank you for that gift.

Half the time though I’ve been knee-knocking-scared. Deep down I knew that if I didn’t do this – If I didn’t talk about what happened to me – then the experience was a complete waste. SOMEONE had to do this. The resources on breast necrosis related to plastic surgery were NIL before I came along.

I am so grateful and so humbled to have been able to help so many people.

Remember that even if it takes you a while to face what needs to be done, you are STILL being courageous.

“The brave may not live forever but the cautious do not live at all.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
