RSS

Breast Reconstruction – My One Year Anniversary

16 Apr

One year ago today I was freaking out and seriously considering saying ‘screw it all I want to go home’. And then the nurse gave me the I-Don’t-Care-Juice and, well, I didn’t care anymore. Fear of  the same complications I had previously set up a lovely fight or flight response. Mostly flight.

If you’re interested in reading about my pre- and post-reconstruction experience, you can start here. For those not familiar with latissimus flap breast reconstruction; the type of breast reconstruction I had, click here.

Below you will find photos of what my breasts look like one year after surgery and the scars on my back; the donor sites where the muscle, fat and skin were taken from to construct the Twins.

This first photo is of the scars on my back. The one wider scar spot on the bottom left is where I had a little trouble healing. The corseted feeling that I described from the beginning is no longer there. However, there is still one area on my righthand side where the skin still feels tight.

Below is a side view of the Twins. You can see here what I was talking about in yesterday’s post about the slight squarish shape they have right now. That squarishnss was much more pronounced early on. As the tissue has softened and settled, the squarish shape has curved a bit.

The third image below shows both breasts one year later. The scar lines have faded significantly over the last year but they have become, texturally, a bit more pronounced.

That’s where I am right now. I’m going to be scheduling my one year checkup with for the end of this month. I’m still trying to decide if I’m ready for nipple reconstruction or not. I’m pretty sure that’s the route I want to go. I’m just not positive. I don’t miss them most of the time. but the Twins aren’t quite complete without them. I’ll talk about this more in a separate article. In the mean time, enjoy the Twins.

 

One response to “Breast Reconstruction – My One Year Anniversary

Leave a Reply

 
