RSS

Nerve Damage With Breast Augmentation

10 Apr

With any type of surgery you can expect to lose some sensation. Sometimes it’s just temporary. Sometimes the nerves are just so damaged that there’s no way you’ll regain all the feeling you had before. Breast surgery is one of those situations where you will never be the same.

Even if you have a transumbilical breast augmentation (TUBA) there will be some nerve damage. Nerves get torn, cut or separated causing a loss of sensation. There can be wide swaths of numb areas. It depends on what type of surgery you have as to how much nerve damage and loss of sensitivity there is.

There are three major types of incisions used in a breast augmentation:

Periareolar – This incision is the most concealed, but is associated with a higher likelihood of inability to successfully breast feed, as compared to the other incision sites. The incision is placed at the bottom half of the areolae. Consider that there will most likely be severe reduction in nipple sensation with this type of implant insertion.

Inframammary – This incision is less concealed than the periareolar and associated with less difficulty than the periareolar incision site when breast-feeding. This incision is placed in the underside crease of the breast. The reduction in nipple sensation probably won’t be as severe with this type of implant insertion. Consider that a big bag of water is being shoved up under the muscle or skin. There WILL be some reduction in breast sensation.

Axillary – This incision is less concealed than the periareolar and associated with less difficulty than the periareolar incision site when breast feeding. This incision is placed in the armpit. The loss of nipple sensation won’t be as severe as with the periareolear, but again, you’re having a big water bag shoved under the skin or muscle. There will be loss of sensation.

No matter what type of insertion you have for breast augmentation, there WILL be some nerve damage. Whether it is temporary or permanent is an individual experience.

 

5 responses to “Nerve Damage With Breast Augmentation

  1. Wicked Stepmom

    April 10, 2010 at 7:34 pm

    I have minor nerve damage, with some residual loss of sensation (not to the nipple, but to the lower quadrant of my right breast) following breast augmentation surgery. My procedure was done with inframammary incisions nearly two years ago. I has complete numbness on both breasts from the nipples down after my procedures, and sensations came back slowly over time. I now have just the slightest loss/reduction of sensation on the right breast. I never lost sensation in my nipples though.

     
  2. HatingBreastImplants

    October 21, 2010 at 9:05 pm

    I had my breast augmentation done 6 1/2 months ago. I was not told there could be any nerve damage at all to the breast skin, only maybe the nipple, which I accepted. I am now, 6 1/2 months later, faced with two breasts that are both numb over about 80% of the surface, one completely numb nipple and one nipple that is numb on the bottom half. I was not told I would experience the loss of breast skin sensation for one day, and now I will likely be faced with it for life, unless they miraculously spring back to life after 6 1/2 months of NO improvement. I am both outraged and completely depressed. I HATE the day I ever thought breast augmentation would raise my self-esteem and make me happier. When I asked my surgeon why my breasts were numb when the bandages were removed his response was, “Well, most women don’t care about the breast, just the nipple.” GREAT reason for not informing me, and I HIGHLY doubt women don’t care their breasts could me permanently numb.

     
  3. Jennifer

    November 13, 2010 at 3:13 am

    5 years ago, I had a foriegn body removed from a biopsy on my left breast. When I was cut open, the plastic surgeon gave me a partial mastectomy with reconstruction.When I woke up in the recovery room, the surgeon was standing over me, letting me know that she gave me a partial mastectomy with reconstruction. She Assured I looked beautiful. I was fine after that surgery, my breasts looked beautiful.. 10 months after that surgery, a 74 year old woman ran a light and hit me, my seatbelt made my right breast implan tear through my muscle and displace into my abdomen. I had another surgery 2 months later. When I was opened up again, the plastic surgeon did a full a left breast mastectomy. I woke up this time in a hospital room. I was suppose to go home after the surgery. It was only supposed to be fix my implants only. The Dr. came in 4 days later to tell me she gave me a full mastectomy. I never knew I was going to get that.Well, that surgery was my ruination. Pain was some what bad, but not as intolerable as it is 4 years later. The Dr. told me I had Brachial plexs. She explained to me what it was. Now 4 years after all this. I was stopped waiting for a bus to let a kid off, someone hit me from behind. Once again the seatbelt struck. My right implant rupturedSo, I go to a new plastic surgeon. But I also need my elbow operated on, my elbow got causght in the door handle and displaced my ulnar nerve( you know your funny bone, which is your ulnar nerve.) so, june I have my implants replaced, and august my arm is operated on. I am now the proud owner of Reflex sympathetic dystrophy. In my terms, OMG severe burning can’t move my left arm don’t go near my left arm or left breast. Pain is not the owrd. Where I get the shakes and feel like vomiting. Since I have had implants, I have more illnesses then I have hair on my head. Breathing issues, no life left in me, refles symp,.dystrophy, RSD, fibromyalgia… my skin is turning to crap. I used to be an ivory girl.. Any suggestions? Anyone out there with these issues? Please can someone give a suggestion. If I get the implants out, Nerve damage is nerve damage, with or without the implants I will have chronic tpain where I am becoming crippled in my left arm. I can not take all the pills they pump me with….

     
  4. Saz

    September 27, 2013 at 4:09 am

    I’m the same, nerve damage , stabbing and burning pains in my right breast I’ve had it for 8 years now and take painkillers everyday

     

Leave a Reply

 
