RSS

Couch To 5K

08 Feb

Thanks to Mur Lafferty (@mightymur on Twitter – follow her. She’s chock full of Awesome) my hubby found out about an app called C25K. The full name is Couch To 5K. This program gives you guidelines for how to train for a 5K run even if you’re a total couch potato. Their website is here: www.c25k.com

Today was our first day and, truth be told, I didn’t quite make it all the way through. I didn’t really understand the program at first. Hubby, Ken, was so fired up that we just loaded it and headed out. So I didn’t really understand it until I sat down and let it run all the way through.

The instructions on the screen advise you to start with a “Brisk five-minute warmup walk. Then alternate 60 seconds of jogging and 90 seconds of walking for a total of 20 minutes.”

What it DOESN’T tell you is that you need to go into settings and check the 1-minute notification box so that it will chime when you stop and start each segment. There are also boxes for 5-minute markers. That is for segments 13 minutes and up. And there is a Half Way Notification box for segments 3 minutes and up.

The program goes for 9 weeks. At the end of that time you’ll be jogging for a full 30 minutes. The nice thing about this program is that if you don’t feel like you’re making enough progress to keep pace with the program, just repeat a week. At my activity level, or lack thereof, I’m going to be repeating week one for a week or two. I don’t really care if it takes me longer than 9 weeks. I’m using the program to get myself moving. After 2+ years it has been long enough.

My long term goal is to run the Disney half marathon next February. My SHORT term goal is to make it past the program’s week 5 since that’s when most people supposedly give up.

Since this is part of my recovery I’ll be blogging about my progress each week.

 

Leave a Reply

 
