RSS

New Project

18 Nov

Does anyone remember The Vagina Monologues? I saw that show when she filmed it for HBO. It was inspiring, funny, poignant and moving. I, for one, did not know that the clitoris has nine times the sensitivity of the head of the penis. Though I wonder if that is the circumcised or uncircumcised head. The circumcised head has reduced sensitivity from what I have read.

Between VM and TED I have been inspired to do something. That “something” is rolling around in my brain, grabbing little bits of ideas. It could be a show in which I do the whole thing topless showing the lat flap scars and using my own body as a visual aid.

It could be educational dealing with research statistics for plastic surgery. It could be stories from women who have, like me, survived botched plastic surgery. It could be a book. Eventually it WILL be a book, but I think this will come first.

I think that I will show some of the worse photos. It has shock value for performance. It also has educational value because no one gets to see what breast necrosis photos look like. You can find photos of mild necrosis on extremities but ladies and gents I have not been able to find easily accessible photos of what a necrotic breast looks like.

I know it seems like a silly name but I still want to call the show “BoobCast”. “Cast” implies broadcast but it also implies healing or mending. It implies a knitting together and a form of support and protection. So I’m keeping the name.

For a long time I have been doing this because it’s something that needs to be done. It’s not something I really wanted to do. I felt like I needed to help women and their partners get through something that drove me mad for a time. It changed my life and I know that I am not the only one who has gone through this.

As I’ve said before, there is so much shame and stigma around plastic surgery. Some people actually feel that, because we had surgery to try to change something about ourselves, we deserve what we get if it goes wrong.

We need to shine a light on that darkness and talk about this the same way we brought breast cancer and prostate cancer out of the closet.

It’s time.

 

Leave a Reply

 
