RSS

Scar Tissue And Jacuzzis

14 Nov

I learned a valuable lesson tonight. A jacuzzi is an amazing tool for loosening up a knotted back. After a 10 hour drive and booth setup for tomorrows trade show it was the best thing I could have done for myself.

I’ve talked before about why my back feels like there’s a layer pf plastic wrap under my skin. It’s the scar tissue from the removal of the fat, skin and muscle of the latissimus flap reconstruction. It will probably be another 6 months before that has released enough for me to feel normal again.

After today though, I felt like someone had dragged me over a mile of asphalt. The layer of tissue under my skin felt positively raw. So my darling, thoughtful hubby drew us a hot bath in the jacuzzi tub here at the hotel and I soaked for half an hour.

Heat opens up capillaries and draws blood to the surface of the skin. More blood brings more nutrients to the tissues. It also helps muscles to unknot. So this was a wonderful thing. My back no longer feels like there’s a layer of sandpaper between my skin and my muscles.

Sometimes healing sucks but it’s little things like this that make it much more bearable.

 

Leave a Reply

 
