RSS

The ER

10 Nov

When we got into the ER they did the usual. Took my vitals and all that jazz. My blood pressure was, of course, elevated. No fever though, which was a very good thing. Fever marks a systemic infection.

Once they got all the usual stuff out of the way, I undressed and showed the nurse what was going on. This was the first time I had seen a medical professional’s eyes bug out. The nurse didn’t actually SAY anything negative though I could tell she was thinking “HOLY MOTHER OF GOD!!”.

She took a culture of the open area and got me hooked up to an IV. The goal became to prevent systemic infection since I had an open wound the size of a silver dollar. So one of the techs put up a full bag of antibiotic and let it go through the drip.

While that was going, I asked about getting stitched back up. That’s when I got the bad news. Unfortunately when sutures start to go like that, there’s nothing they can do about it. I was told that if they did stitch it back up, it would only tear open again.

Much later I found out that there are different types of stitches. The person who stitched me up apparently didn’t use the type that was for heavy people like myself. Unlike Dr. Elliott’s reconstruction, the HiQ only used a single layer of sutures. That’s probably one of the other reasons I started unraveling.

Sorry folks. I’m just all over the place tonight. I’ll continue this story tomorrow.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 10, 2009 in dehiscence, Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
