RSS

Right After Surgery

19 Aug

We got back to the hotel around 6:30 pm. After I made my way VERY slowly into the room, Ken got me set up in bed, propped up and surrounded with pillows. I was still pretty groggy from the anesthetic so I was sort of in and out of sleep for a little while.

I woke up a little while later and found Ken sitting in bed watching TV with a pizza box in his lap. The smell made me ravenous. So he made me some soup.

As part of my after care instructions I was told that I should walk as much as I could. While he was puttering around in the kitchenette, I got up SLOWLY and walked a couple laps around the coffee table.I was more capable of moving after this surgery than the reconstruction.

The HiQ had given Ken a couple of prescriptions for after the surgery. The pharmacy was closed by the time we got back to the room and Ken didn’t want to leave me alone the first evening so the nurse sent along enough pain pills for me to get through until my one day check up.

After Ken made soup I actually sat at the kitchenette table and ate some of it. Even though I thought I was ravenous, my body didn’t seem to want that much food.  So I ate what i wanted and then went to the bathroom.

I was really curious about what I looked like  so I gingerly took off the pajama top. My chest and torso were wrapped in a compression bandage over other bandages so all I could see was that I had bigger boobs. I wouldn’t be able to actually see them until my one day check up the following afternoon. Although I did try to peek, it would have been too complicated and painful for me to completely unwrap myself.

I remember falling asleep pretty early after taking a slow walk down the hall. I think I slept through the night. I was still pretty dopey from the anesthetic after all.

I’m going to apologize in advance because this is difficult and painful for me to remember so I won’t be very consistent on my posting. I can only deal with remembering for a little while before I have to stop and take a break.

On top of that, Ken and I are leaving the country for a few days on the 24th and won’t be back until the 28th. I’ll talk about this in another post.

 

One response to “Right After Surgery

  1. Interactive Whiteboards

    January 23, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    I am really thankful to this topic because it really gives useful information ~'”

     

Leave a Reply

 
