RSS

Complexus Inferioritus 2

11 Aug

I admit that I was intimidated by what appeared to me to be massive amounts of cutting on my breasts. On the other hand, I hated what I had SO much that, while it was pretty scary, it was something that I could definitely see myself doing.

After the video was over, the PA came in and she explained what the video had just shown and then she asked if I would like to see what I would look like after the surgery.  I think this is where they REALLY sell women on the idea of plastic surgery. It was where they really sold me on it.

The PS brought out a couple of implants and hat me put them in my bra. She showed me a mirror and it was love at first sight. I felt beautiful for the first time in a quite a while. As I said, I was sold.

I was given an estimate for the two procedures.  And augmentation is still considered a separate procedure from  the lift even though they’re usually done in unison. At least they were a few years ago.

I was given an estimate for the two procedures.  A total of around $10,000 if I’m remembering correctly. So I brought it home and showed the estimate to my husband.  And that’s where the heartbreak of this story truly begins.

He said we couldn’t afford it and maybe in a couple years we’d be able to do it. I cried as though my heart were broken but by the end of the day I had calmed down. I hadn’t accepted that it was over though. I was bound and determined that I was going to make this happen. I just had to find a way to make my husband understand how desperate I was to be beautiful. So, in my emotional state, I reverted to high school. I wrote him a letter. I felt that was really the only way to articulate what I felt that I needed.

After reading it later that night, he told me that if I could find a way to make it happen cheaply, then I could get it done. This is where I admit to having more than a bit of OCD (obsessive compulsive disorder). This wasn’t a compulsion but it was most assuredly an obsession.

So I was off. I had another consultation about a month later with another local PS. Again, I was quoted about the same price. At this point I was feeling pretty desperate. So I looked on our barter network website for plastic surgeons in Orlando.

Barter networks are different than how many people perceive them. As an example say I have a product or service that I sell within the network for $10. Someone within the network buys that product or service giving me $10 barter dollars in my account. I can then take that barter cash and use it for ANYTHING in the barter network that someone else supplies.

I have gotten handyman work, housekeeping, contact lenses, pre-purchase home inspection and the surgical fees for my initial surgery on barter. There are SO many things you have access to and if your barter club is part of a network with reciprocal agreements, you have access to an even wider range of products and services. Just a couple days ago we bought fudge, jam, wine and dinner on barter.

Yes, I found a plastic surgeon on barter.

Tune in tomorrow when I continue with my story.

 

Leave a Reply

 
