RSS

Nipples

05 Aug

My regular readers know that I have been researching prosthetic nipples for some time. I have been trying to decide if I was going to buy prosthetics, if I’m going to have surgery or if I’ll decide to do both.  I’ve found some amazing people who hand make and hand paint nipple prosthetics. These people are real artisans. Their work looks very close to the real thing.

They use silicone rubber to create a nipple and areolae to match the client’s skin tone. They will also take a mold of an existing nipple to create the new one if someone has lost only one breast to a mastectomy.

The thing I like about silicone nipples is that at the edge it fades out. By that I mean it gets thinner and translucent so that you can see the skin through it. That makes it blend in with the rest of the breast.

What I DON’T like about prosthetic nipples is you’ve got to use adhesive to stick it to your breast mound. That adhesive lasts 5-7 days. I’ve been told that keeping skin covered with rubber that long isn’t harmful. I’ve also been told that you don’t need to give your skin a break. I know my body though. I know my skin is sensitive to adhesive. I get a rash from surgical tape.

I have also talked to Dr. Elliott a few more times. He explained to me that it is normal for nipples to reduce by about half in size. That’s why a good surgeon will compensate for that.

With all that in mind I’ve decided that I am not going to get prosthetics. I am happy just to have breasts again. It will only be about six months until I have the next surgery and I just don’t see the point right now in spending almost $200 on something I’ll only wear for the next six months.

 

2 responses to “Nipples

  1. Lisa

    August 6, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    I had a double mastectomy last Sept with expanders switched for implants in Feb. I really did not want to get nipples and tried out temporary tatoos but the breast are flat. SO, I have decided to get nipples later this month. I’m terrified and would like to know how many different types can be made?

    I’ve heard they actually put real pearls under the skin in Japan. I know theye can take skin from my inside thigh. But what kind of protrusion can be made?

    Thanks!

     
    • Herbwoman

      August 7, 2009 at 2:02 pm

      I think it really depends on the skill of your plastic surgeon and the condition of your skin as to what can be accomplished. It also depends on the type of flap reconstruction. I would highly advise against harvesting tissue from your inner thigh. I’ve heard nothing but bad things about that.

      From what I understand, size and protrusion radically decreases by about 50-70% within the first 8 weeks to 18 months. That’s why you need to be very clear with your PS as to what you want at the outset. Mine keeps telling me what most women want. *I* am not most women. So we’ll be having a conversation about my desires for BIG, protruding nipples.

      I have read that there are injectables that can keep the nipples protruding. It’s really important to know what you want for your body though. Do you always want to look like you’re a bit cold? Do you want a flatter nipple?

      I would suggest having a frank ad open discussion with your PS. If he or she doesn’t give you the answers you what, get a second opinion. I’ll even get you Dr. Elliott’s number if you would like.

       

Leave a Reply

 
