RSS

Nick/Tuck

31 Jul

I’ve been following Nick Starr on Twitter and Facebook for a while now. Nick’s story is very inspirational. He lost over 100 pounds the old fashioned way.  Simply through exercise and diet. Unfortunately the rapid weight loss has left him with some extra saggy skin. The only way to fix that is through plastic surgery.

Nick found a good plastic surgeon and he as started saving up. Unfortunately he needs about $6500 more for the tummy tuck. Of course insurance won’t cover it. No one will loan him money to have it done and he feels that he is at the end of his rope.

I’ve been at the end of my rope so I understand how he feels. What’s unique about this story is that Nick has come up with an extremely unconventional solution to his problem. He is going to become homeless. He is moving out of his apartment and on to the streets until he saves up enough money for the surgery.

He has a job so he won’t be hungry. He is simply giving up his apartment and other bills in order to save up the money.

If you would like to know more about Nick Starr and donate something towards his procedure, visit his blog here: http://www.nickstarr.com/

Yes, this is extreme. I understand why he’s doing it though and I admire his courage. I’d like to urge you all to support Nick so that he has to spend less time sleeping on the streets.

 

4 responses to “Nick/Tuck

  1. Maryla

    August 1, 2009 at 1:49 am

    While I agree with you that Nick’s weight loss through diet and exercise is worth applauding, I have to disagree with you that his desperate quest for bodily perfection is admirable. If you have followed his FB and tweets for any amount of time, you’ll see that his problems are much more than skin deep. If I believed that this surgery would solve all his ills – his loneliness and lack of self-esteem – I would be more than happy to make a donation. But, as is, I think he is only setting himself up for further disappointment when his quest does not result in the lasting happiness that he seeks. Nick is unstable enough without the added instability of being homeless. I wish him well and I do hope it works out for him, but I’m bracing myself for more of his drama brought on by his despair.

     
    • Herbwoman

      August 1, 2009 at 12:30 pm

      I don’t know of a single person who doesn’t have issues that are more than skin deep. My personal feeling is that you’ve got to have some pretty deep seated insecurities to resort to plastic surgery in the first place. I am including myself in that. Anyone who has been a regular reader of my blog knows how totally messed up I’ve been.

      However, Nick DOES have a need for this surgery. When there has been extreme weight loss like his, those extra folds of skin become bacterial and fungal breeding grounds. It can lead to serious health issues.

      So while I agree that Nick could use some counseling for body dysmorphia and self esteem, I strongly feel that he needs support right now because he’s made what most of us perceive as an very unstable decision.

      When someone is acting in an unstable manner they need caring and compassion.

       
  2. S

    August 1, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    Nick is constantly threatening to kill himself on Twitter and boasting about his drunken sexual exploits. He thinks surgery will solve all his problems. The reality is that he’s deeply disturbed and probably not a good candidate for surgery because of that. If the doctor did a background check he’d see that Nick was picked up by the police in June for threatening to jump off the Golden Gate Bridge.

     
    • Herbwoman

      August 1, 2009 at 9:01 pm

      The suicide threats and drunken sex are all things I’ve never seen from him. And I never heard about the bridge jump either. I’ve only ever seen the happy-go-lucky Nick until recently. I do appreciate the information though. Thanks for the heads-up.

       

Leave a Reply

 
