RSS

Evening Out

30 Jul

When I first had the reconstruction surgery on April 16th, and for some time after, it seemed to me as though my new right breast was bigger than the left. That is, of course, normal for women who are right-side dominant. But this was WAY out of proportion from what I could see.

Why? Because when you use one side more than the other, that right pectoral muscle is going to build up more and so the right breast (or left if you’re left handed) will be a bit larger.

Last night I took some time to really look in the mirror. Yes the right breast is still just a little bit bigger than the left. But not nearly as much as it was. I can only guess that whatever swelling there was has *finally* gone down all the way. So my breasts are evening out after three and a half months. YAY for progress!

 

7 responses to “Evening Out

  1. strugglinginatlanta

    July 31, 2009 at 9:32 am

    help….
    2 weeks away from reconstruction (Latiss/Dorsi-DCIS, stage 0 in Duct). Everything has been stellar-great Suregon, PS and support. Not a glitch!
    Have started the med regiment. But…I am feeling sad, so sad. Can’t look at my back at all and want to know about my tight underarm, back , ect..WHEN WILL THIS GO AWAY. I WANT MY LIFE BACK I have ony been going through this journey for 5 months-so I am feeling a little not worthy of feeling like this. Can’t stand to be touched! Not find support group in Atlanta. My body feels crooket-is that a word?

    :o(

     
    • Herbwoman

      July 31, 2009 at 1:34 pm

      I know what you’re going through. You’ve only gone two weeks and you’re expecting to be a whole lot further along in your healing than you are. I was there, myself. I felt good mentally so I expected my body to fall in line with how I thought I was doing.

      Our bodies don’t heal that fast. No matter how badly we want to get on with our life and go back to our usual routine, it’s still going to take lots of time. Remember, you just had HUGE chunks of muscle, skin and fat moved UNDER your skin to give you an AWESOME gift! YOU are the proud owner of brand new BOOBIES!!!

      I’m sure your Doc and PS have you on some serious pain meds. Most narcotics are also depressants. That can account for the sadness. I was on Oxycodone for a few weeks, then got moved to Percocet. For me, though, I was sad and frustrated because I thought I should be further along in my healing than i was.

      May I ask why you can’t look at your back? Other than the obvious lack of a neck that rotates 180 degrees 😉

      As far as the tightness goes, I’m over three months out and I’m still a little tight in my armpits. What REALLY helped me was slow, gentle stretching daily. You’ll know what your limit is. It’s just VERY important not to push yourself past that limit or you could tear something. Just take it slow.

      Heck, my armpit area was So sensitive that for the first coupe weeks I couldn’t even put on deodorant.

      Did anyone on your medical team explain that the reason you can’t stand to be touched in certain spots is because your nerves are still very raw and inflamed? That’s because the space that they made to bring around the tissue from your back was about a hand and a half to two hands in width.

      You said you don’t feel worthy of feeling like this. Hon you are allowed to feel however you feel. Whether that’s sad, angry, frustrated…whatever. It’s perfectly normal because you’re human and that’s what humans do. Feel. You’ve been through a life changing experience and it’s going to take time to process.

      Friends gave me this bit of wisdom repeatedly, and I’m going to pass it on to you. Right now you have one job. That job is to heal. The best way to do that it to eat what you want, sleep when you’re tired and take short (5-15 minute) walks a few times a day. Do NOT push yourself. You’ll feel it the next day if you do and that will just prolong your healing.

      Please feel free to contact me whenever you want to talk.

       
      • Mark J Bennett

        August 3, 2009 at 2:42 pm

        My wife has just finished her double mastectomy with lattisimus flap reconstruction. They saved the nipples and surrounding area. has onyone gone though this before. The back is a little lumpy but seems to be healing well bu the purple discoloration, especially one the left breast is causing her concerns. She is in extreme pain most of the time (4 days after) and the pain meds barely keep her asleep long enough for rest. Also the under arms are sore…the list goes on. I would like to show her someone else’s results for comparison. Thanks.
        Mark.

         
      • Dree

        September 19, 2011 at 4:46 pm

        Hi, I know it has been quite some time since your post but your comment is one of the few I’ve found that relates to my issue. I had latiss dorsi reconstruction 5 weeks ago and it still feels as though someone is pushing a stiff piece of cardboard up under my arm. At the worst time, it feels more like a bunch of wadded up cardboard. This sensation has felt worse than the pain associated with the incisions and I am wondering when it goes away. I am trying to keep up with the exercises (e.g, walking my fingers up the wall) but they exacerbate the sensation under my arm and make it more pronounced. I’ve had fear that the muscle was wrapped too tight – and too high – around my chest so in some ways I was relieved to see your message. Thank you for any information or insights.

         
      • Maria_Myrback

        September 19, 2011 at 5:32 pm

        Hi Dree;

        Congratulations on your new boobie (boobies?). For a long time, I had weird sensations, too. It’s going to take your body time to adjust. Five weeks is a baby step in your healing process. You just had MAJOR surgery. Your PS moved a BIG part of your back to your front so it’s normal to feel stiffness and tightness. It will loosen up. It’s just going to take time. Keep doing your exercises and you’ll see a difference in another 8 weeks or so.

        Remember though that every body is different so it might take longer. Or it might take less time. Best of luck and keep in touch, okay?

         
  2. Mark J Bennett

    August 3, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Alos…one breast is warm, the other is stone cold??????

     
    • Herbwoman

      August 3, 2009 at 6:23 pm

      Mark;

      First, calm down and breathe. It’s important right now that you be the strong one and it sounds to me like you’re panicking just a bit. You’ve got to stay calm. It has only been four days since her surgery. Everything looks kind of weird this early. It’s perfectly normal for her back to look lumpy. Mine still looks a little off and I’m 3 and 1/2 months put of surgery.

      As for the purple bruising, just keep an eye on it for the time being. At the moment, it’s nothing really to worry about.

      Have you talked to her plastic surgeon or her regular doc about the stone cold breast? It’s probably nothing serious but when she has her one week check up, it’s something you need to mention. Make a list of your concerns and make sure to take the list with you.

      Her pain level when the meds aren’t kicked in will probably be about a 3-4 on the 1-10 scale (1 is almost no discomfort at all and 10 is the worst pain she’s ever felt). Remember, she has just had HUGE chunks of muscle, fat and skin dragged around UNDER her skin to make the new Twins. Of course she’s going to be hurting some. ESPECIALLY if she’s trying to do anything besides sit and stare at the TV. THAT should be her main occupation for the next month or so.

      The area under her arms hurts because the space they dragged the tissue through is about the width of 1 and 1/2 to 2 hands. That area is going to be extremely raw for quite a while.

      I do hope her doc has her on some serious pain meds. I was on Oxycodone for the first two weeks and then I went to Percocet for about four weeks. If she’s not, it’s your job to call and get something that DOES work for her. Remember she can’t do anything for herself right now. It’s your job to take care of her. You’re doing great by asking questions and looking for answers here.

      I didn’t have the nipple transfer thing like she’s having. I lost both my nipples to necrosis because of the breast augmentation and lift. Maybe one of my other readers can help answer your questions there. If you have any other questions, please don’t hesitate to ask.

      ~Maria~

       

Leave a Reply

 
