RSS

A Tad Bit Nipply

10 Jul

Remember that classic Christmas son “All I Want For Christmas (Is My Two Front Teeth)? Well, all *I* want in time for DragonCon is a pair of high quality hand made silicone prosthetic nipples.

I’ve looked at the pre-made ones and they’re terrible. Sure, under a SHIRT they look like nipples, but in no way shape or form could THIS ever be considered a proper nipple: http://tinyurl.com/m7emlr 

Granted, they call them nipple enhancers. But they also tout them as prosthetic nipples. I’ve read posts on breast cancer forums where these are considered acceptable replacements for real nipples.

Reforma nipples are a bit better http://tinyurl.com/npazs9  They’re thinner and more pliant. Unfortunately they’re still not what I would consider a really good replacement.

The best type of nipple prosthetic that I have found are made of silicone. They are molded to your breast mound for the best fit and then hand painted to match your other breast. In MY case, or in the case of both breasts being taken, the artists I have talked to will use a sister or daughter as a model.

I have neither. Well, I have four half sisters, but two of them I’m not talking to and two of them, no one knows where they are for sure.

Here is an example of the kind of nipple prosthetics ALL women should be wearing if they decide not to opt for nipple reconstruction:http://tinyurl.com/likqgb  Life is just far too short to settle for something that doesn’t make you completely happy. Especially when it comes to your mental well-being.

In my research I talked not only to the gentleman who created these, but also two other prosthetic artists. One insisted that I had to be fitted there at her office. The second suggested two places here in Florida. One is in Naples and the other is in Gainesville. I will be contacting the artist in Gainsville first since they’re closer. Of course once I know more I’ll post about it. Eventually there will be a shot of me wearing the new prosthetics.

 

3 responses to “A Tad Bit Nipply

  1. Thailand plastic surgery

    July 14, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Entertaining post there, great stuff”

    I have seen the prosthetics and they are a marvel of modern science, rebuilding a nipple can only achieve a certain look. the prosthetics achieve an exact look…

     
  2. Liz

    August 4, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Could you please tell me the name of the place in Naples for nipple prostetics. Thank you, LIz

     
    • Herbwoman

      August 5, 2009 at 12:29 am

      Liz;

      Julie Jordan Brown from Medical Art Resources, Inc in Greenfield, WI was kind enough to give me this url for the people in Naples. http://www.anaplastics.com. David Trainer is the gentleman to contact there. Julie asked me to mention that she sent me to him. Personally I decided to go a different route. I do hope this helps though.

       

Leave a Reply

 
