RSS

Chasing Skirts

26 Jun
The Skirt In Question

The Skirt In Question

As Ken was heading out the door he stopped and asked if I’d like to come with him to grocery shop at the big Wal Mart SuperCenter in Viera. I was most definitely in the mood to get out of the house so I slipped on my new cute sandals and we were out the door.

Some time back I wrote a post called “I Am Not A Girly Girl. Am I?”. In it I talked about how I felt that my mangled chest made me feel almost masculine. I also justified the theory of having always been this way by talking about my childhood of playing with trucks and climbing trees.

Today, however, I took another chunk out of that theory. The first chunk got chipped away a few weeks ago when I actually bought a casual dress. What even amazes me more is that I’ve WORN the dress TWICE! Ask anyone who knows me (ie LordGme on Twitter). I NEVER wear dresses.

The white skirt I bought will go very well with the new tops I bought at the same time that I got my dress.. The blue, bronze and silver beading will also compliment the new wedge sandals I bought.

Now that I’m getting excited about things like that I have to wonder once again, how much the whole mess of the last two years really affected my perception of my own femininity.  I’m starting to think that it’s fairly obvious that while I have tomboy qualities, thanks to the reconstruction surgery, I’m becoming more feminine.

Writing this post, I have contemplated what, precisely defines a “girly girl” in my mind. To me it is a woman who obsesses over makeup, wears four inch heels and wears dresses most of the time. Those are things that don’t fall under the definition of me.

On the other hand, I now own a second casual dress AND a skirt. Both purchases are a HUGE deal for me.  I’m not exactly sure what to make of these changes. As I continue to unearth new aspects that pop up, I’ll keep reporting on them here.

In the mean time, I’ll just keep chasing skirts as the mood strikes.

 

Leave a Reply

 
