RSS

Life Changing Events

16 Jun

Well isn’t THAT a big, screaming “DUH!!”. Of COURSE this whole miasma of misery and recovery changed my life. I feel like my entire life has been on hold for the last three years between my parent’s divorce, the subsequent complications from the initial surgery and recovery from the latissimus flap reconstruction surgery.

In future posts I’m going to go back and go into more vivid detail about the things I went through because of the complications. I want to talk about the V.A.C. machine and what a medical wonder that is. I want to posit my theory about silicone allergies and how an uncaring doctor can make life even more miserable.

Today I’m going to talk about another life changing event. Any of you who follow me on Facebook or Twitter know that I have been working on my Master Herbalist certification for the last three years.  I have been seriously thinking about a career change after all of this.

Yes it would be a shame not to finish it. But once I’ve finished, then what am I going to do with it? Opening an herb shop requires HUGE overhead. Buying the herbal inventory and storage media, etc plus there are state regulations to follow out the ying yang. I do not have that kind of cash. I have also seen how most herbal stores flounder. You have to teach classes just to make enough money to stay afloat. That takes up your nights or weekends.

If I did herbal consultations, that would be $60 for 1-1/2 hours. Then what? Send the client to another herbalist to get their herbs? I just can’t see a way to make this work.

Here, I must admit a deep, dark secret. In my personal experience, when it comes right down to it, for more serious issues herbs alone just don’t cut it. I’m watching someone dear to me lose their life because when cancer first developed, they decided to use natural methods to combat it. And it DID work for a little while. They battled back stage four cancer. There were extreme measures involved but they accomplished it. Now this person is in hospice because it came back and became systemic. I can’t help but think that if this person had just knuckled under and done standard treatment right out of the box, what would be happening now?

I am considering apprenticing to someone locally for six months to see if a career in Interior Design is something that really appeals to me. Or if it’s just something I got hooked on because I watched so much HGTV while recovering from surgery.

Why Interior Design? Well, the cool thing is that you get to make things pretty for people and they PAY you to do it. With the right education you also learn architectural stuff. When I was a kid I wanted to be an architect but I have no head for math. So I figure I get the best of both worlds: Some architectural knowledge and getting to play with pretty fabrics, lighting fixtures, which I adore, paint and all kinds of creative building projects.

My initial research tells me that, out of the box working for a larger company, I can make 32K plus bonuses OR I can make over 40K working for myself. Compared to what I’m bringing in right now working with our essential oils company, that’s a WHOLE lot more money.

After my Mom had been through her cancer ordeal, she wanted to change her life completely. She wanted to live on a farm and have animals. So we moved to Wyoming and got a ranch with horses and goats. I’m starting to think that the whole life re-evaluation thing may be part and parcel with surviving major trauma. Yes, I know we hear stories and see movies about this kind of thing. I just didn’t think that I would be oe of those people.

I have tried very hard to stress that I have not gone through what cancer survivors go through. They go through so much more. The more I learn and observe about myself, however, the more I believe my own journey is at least very similar.

 

Leave a Reply

 
