RSS

Support System

03 Jun

Remember when I went and bought the VERY expensive, VERY good, VERY pretty bras? I’ve been wearing them pretty frequently. But now there’s a bit of a problem. Since my skin is so delicate (see the Doctor Place entry) the back strap really irritated and rubbed raw a two inch long spot on the suture line. It also caused a REALLY nasty bruise. So I’ve stopped wearing a bra for a week. I do love my shelf bras/camis though. They don’t irritate and they’re more comfortable.

Amy at Dr. Elliott’s office said that since my back is completely insensate in large areas, I need to be really careful. When I DO try wearing a bra again next week, I need to have Ken check my back frequently to make sure it isn’t irritating again.

While we were at Disney yesterday I met a really fantastic lady who was also celebrating new boobies. She had been through a rough bout of chemo and had come out the other side. She had a DIEP construction where her surgeon used microsurgery to reattach the blood vessels. http://www.diepbreastreconstruction.org/

What I found interesting is that her new girls were the size of mine BUT she was told she’d never have to wear a bra again. I don’t get that. They’re still heavy and the skin is still going to stretch like it would with any other woman. So how is it that she doesn’t have to wear a bra??

I would LOVE to hear from anyone who has had the DIEP reconstruction. It just boggles my mind that those girls don’t need a suport system but my Latissimus Flap boobies do. I think I’m going to do more research on this. I’ll report on my findings as they come to light.

 

Leave a Reply

 
