RSS

Drug Retention?

19 May

Today was a long day between getting my hair done and an event of our oldest son’s that I absolutely had to attend. By 7pm I was falling asleep in my chair. Even all that aside, I’ve noticed something over the last several days about my brain function, or lack thereof. I have very little ability to focus. I can’t keep things straight in my head for very long. Even writing this post is difficult for me because I just can’t get the words straight in my head. I haven’t had any pain meds since 3pm Monday afternoon because I haven’t really needed them. So I know it’s not being unfocused because of that. My pain level is also not to blame because I’m really not over a 1 on the OMG-It-Really-Fucking-Hurts scale.

I am beginning to think that, because I am overweight, it is possible that my fat cells have stored up the opiates and are still releasing trace amounts.  Since I am very inactive because I’m still recovering, my body has not had an opportunity to burn it off.I’ve been told that it can also take as long as 6 weeks for the anesthetic to be completely out of my system.

On the other hand it is possible that my erratic sleep schedule may also be responsible in part. I have also been inconsistent on the time of day that I have been taking my Levoxyl, which is the med I take for my Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis. I MAY eve have forgotten to take it for the last few days. I just don’t know. So that may be a contributing factor as well. It could be one, two, all or none of the above.

I’m rather looking forward to being able to think clearly for more than a few minutes at a whack.

 

Leave a Reply

 
