RSS

I’ll Take “Drain” For $1000 Alex

13 May

It’s another early morning. My sleep pattern is SO messed up it’s not even funny. Monday night I went to bed about 11 and woke up at 2 am. I stayed up until around 10am Tuesday and went back to sleep because I was incredibly exhausted. I finally woke up around 2:30. Then went back to bed around 11:30pm. This morning (Wednesday) I woke up at 3:30. I only seem to be able to sleep in 4 hour blocks right now. I’m guessing because that’s how long the acetaminophen is lasting.

After almost  month you would think that the worst pain would still be from the incision areas. It isn’t. The worst pain is from this stupid right side drain. The only thing aside from acetaminophen that makes it better is the heating pad. I’d have it taken out but I’ve been stuck at a steady 50mls of serous fluid for the past four days. It’s not lightening up.

As Ken reminded me though, this is the only outlet for drainage now so it may take longer for this one. As I see it, I don’t really have a choice other than to suck it up and deal. If the drain is taken out too early, I’ll develop a seroma. A seroma is defined as a pocket of clear serous fluid that sometimes develops in the body after surgery. When small blood vessels are ruptured, blood plasma can seep out; inflammation caused by dying injured cells also contributes to the fluid. The only way to get rid of one of those is to use a syringe with a HUGE needle to remove the fluid from the pocket. So since my choices are Drain or Harpoon Gun, I’ll take Drain for $1000 Alex.

I do have to wonder if the heating pad is exacerbating fluid production though. I can’t find anything about that anywhere. Even though the heating pad makes the drain site more comfortable, I *might* be making matters worse. Maybe I should call Dr. Elliot’s office today and talk to them about what’s going on. They should probably know that I tore that stitch. Since it’s Wednesday, they’ll be seeing patients in the office so I should have no problems getting in touch with Patti or Chris.

As usual I’ll update as I have more information.

 

2 responses to “I’ll Take “Drain” For $1000 Alex

  1. Cosmetic Surgery in Thailand

    July 14, 2009 at 4:35 am

    Try not too use the heating pad, its not necessary and try not to play or tear anymore stitches. The body needs time and a relaxed mind to heal effectively.

     
    • Herbwoman

      July 14, 2009 at 1:47 pm

      I used the heating pad because it was effective in moving the fat and tissue through the drains tubes. And believe me, I wasn’t “playing”. If you read my blog you’ll know that my main occupation was sitting ad drooling for a loooong time. I tore the stitch getting into bed because I caught it with my knee.

       

Leave a Reply

 
