RSS

My Doctor’s Pants Are Aflame

08 May

This morning Ken called Dr. Elliott’s office to let him know that the Darvocet wasn’t working for me. A little while later Suzanne called back and said that I should check my email. Sure enough there was a note from Dr. Elliott. So I wrote back and described how the Darvocet was kicking my ass AND not working very well.

Ken let her know what was going on and she said she would get in touch with Dr. Elliott too. A few minutes later, Dr. Elliott himself called me. He said he didn’t want me going back up in pain meds since i was on the Darvocet. He also said that the nausea and dizziness were normal.

I proceeded to argue my case and after a minute or so he capitulated saying he’d send in the script. Ken went to run errands not long after and in that process he picked up my meds. When he got home I ripped open the bag and yanked the little orange bottle from it’s bonds fully prepared to see the word Oxycodone cleary printed on the label. After all he DID say he’d call in the script.

Imagine my surprise when I saw the word Hydrocodone instead. Don’t get me wrong. I’m a BIG fan of the Codiene. It’s always been my favorite in the narcotics family. It has always worked the best for me in that I have no nausea and I can actually THINK clearly on it.

BUT that man LIED to me! There for his pants are aflame. I don’t know whether to be pleased with the replacement or pissed that he lied. Since there really isn’t anything I can do about it and he DID give me something that works, I think I’ll settle for a mixture of gratitude and mild annoyance.

 

Leave a comment