RSS

Personal Notes

07 Nov

Not that talking about my breasts isn’t personal enough.  I find that there is something else I need to share.

My disdain for ignorance and apathy.

Sadly, I have been apathetic.  I was apathetic about Florida’s Proposition 2 in this election.  I figured that someone else would do it.  Someone ELSE would get out there and make people understand that this wasn’t just about “gay marriage”.  Someone ELSE would put signs out, canvas neighborhoods and throw rallies.  After all, how could people NOT understand that this was about equal rights?

As an openly bisexual woman I have heard that because I am married to a man, I am taking advantage of “heterosexual privilege”.  But that doesn’t mean that I am not affected by what has happened.  Three-fifths of an entire STATE decided that people shouldn’t have the right to marry the person that they love.

And I stood by and watched it happen.

Thousands of people have been denied the same right that I have been fortunate enough to have and NO ONE is doing anything about it here in Florida.  Sure, a few letters have been written.  In California they had a protest.  In Florida? Nothing.  Not a damned thing!

Why?  Is it apathy?  Has this defeat taken the wind out of everyone’s sails?  Why isn’t the LGBT community in Florida up in arms?

Apathy is a killer.  When apathy kills, Ignorance wins.

Next time, and there WILL be a next time, I won’t allow apathy to take someone’s rights from them.

No. Never again.

 

Leave a Reply

 
