RSS

Questions

14 Oct

I posted about this blog on the ORIGINAL Implant Forum and within hours I had questions.  So I thought I’d take the time to address them here.

1) Did I have any hints that the surgeon might be negligent:  I checked with HealthGrades.com and bought the full report.  According to the side there were no disciplinary actions either in the past or pending.  The surgeon had been in good standing for over 15 years.

2) Did I pursue legal action:  I spoke to a malpractice lawyer who told me that plastic surgeons in Florida are only required to carry $100,000 in malpractice insurance.  The burden of proof also falls to the plaintiff’s lawyer.  So by the time the law office did all the research and found a way to prove malpractice, most of the 100K would be eaten up by legal fees, leaving me with nothing for the reconstruction surgeries I’ll have to have.

Instead of a law suit, I did the next best thing.  I threatened legal action unless the surgeon gave me back all my surgical fees.  It was agreed with the provision that neither my family nor myself give the name of the surgeon or the name of the center.

I just wanted to be done with the surgeon for good.  Another odd thing is that while I was under the care of that surgeon, no other plastic surgeon would see me for a consultation.  At all.

3) How can I tell if my surgeon is like that? : One of the most valuable lessons I learned is that when it comes to surgery, do NOT go cheap!  If you think it’s a good deal, there’s every chance that person is probably a hack. ANY doctor can call himself a plastic surgeon even if he hasn’t studied the specialty. Always make SURE your surgeon is board certified.

You know what they call a doctor that graduates in the bottom 10% of the medical class, right?

Doctor.

4) So what’s next?:  Because of the way my chest healed, I’ve got to have reconstructive surgery along the same vein as cancer survivors.  I’m seeing THE best cosmetic surgeon in the southeast for the official consultation on Oct. 24th.  In the initial one though Dr. Elliott said that he wanted to use a procedure called the Latissimus Dorsai Flap procedure.  Information can be found here: http://www.breastreconstruction.ca/living_latflap.htm

I’ll be posting more about my consultation when we get back from Atlanta.

If you have any questions, you can post them here.  You can also email me at boobcast@gmail.com or Follow me on Twitter under Boobcast.

 

3 responses to “Questions

  1. Alan Villegas

    October 6, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    I think you should check out Dr. Amiya Prasad. He is a premier New York cosmetic surgeon based out of NYC. He is highly professional and works hard to ensure quick recovery times…

     
  2. val

    August 18, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    I feel for you, kinda going threw the same thing .I used a Dr out of St Pete .4-30-13 had breast aug with silicone using Strattice, long story short my breast incision has leaked twice, in hospital with sepsis ..,serous fluid that doesn’t go away .Now he tells me he wants to take out the strattice saying its not healing ,,my boob job 10.700.$ then he charged me for putting a drain in my left breast 600$..not counting the hospital 17000.$ along with what he wants for taking out the strattice ..That he told me he wouldn’t do the job without the ‘latest greatest ‘ Wow

     
    • Maria_Myrback

      August 18, 2013 at 10:06 pm

      If the drain is doing its job then why remove the implant? That doesn’t make sense unless you’re developing necrosis.

       

Leave a Reply

 
